The Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

Required units

  1. Use training packages and accredited courses to meet client needs TAEDES402A
  2. Plan, organise and facilitate learning in the workplace TAEDEL402A
  3. Design and develop learning programs TAEDES401A
  4. Plan, organise and deliver group-based learning TAEDEL401A
  5. Plan assessment activities and processes TAEASS401B
  6. Assess competence TAEASS402B
  7. Participate in assessment validation TAEASS403B

Electives normally offered

  1. Mentor in the workplace TAEDEL404
  2. Make a presentation BSBCMM401A
  3. Provide work skill instruction TAEDEL301A


Other electives

Two elective units are required. Elective units must be relevant to the work outcome, local industry requirements and the qualification level. Where a unit is chosen from another currently endorsed Training Package or accredited course, it must be from a qualification or course at Certificate III level or above, and must contribute towards the vocational outcome of the program.


The electives for those taking the Certificate IV with a TESOL emphasis are:


If you already have other training sector credentials . . .

If you already have a relevant Certificate III or higher qualification in the training sector (or a Statement of Attainment for a unit), then you can use it to gain an elective unit. They may be VET accredited units, not only VET endorsed units, or higher education units.